Adjust text size

International Yoga Day

Event Date - 21st June 2022.
Event Duration - 7:30am - 9:30am
Event Venue - Mithibai College – Main Foyer
Total participants - 48

The NSS Unit of SVKM's Mithibai College of Arts, Chauhan Institute of Science & Amrutben Jivanlal College of Commerce and Economics (Autonomous)
(Affiliated to University of Mumbai NAAC Reaccredited 'A' Grade, CGPA: 3.57 (Feb. 2016) Granted under RUSA, FIST-DST & Star College Scheme of DBT, Gov. of India, Best College (2016-2017), University of Mumbai.)

Under the leadership of Principal, Dr. Krutika Desai Madam, the NCC, NSS, and DLLE committees of SVKM’s Mithibai College of Arts, Chauhan Institute of Science, and Amrutben College of Commerce and Economics (AUTONOMOUS), affiliated to the University of Mumbai, organized the International Day of Yoga on June 21, 2022, in the college premises. The session was led by Dr. Pramila Sharma (M.Sc., Ph.D., BNYS), a certified yoga instructor. Dr. Sharma emphasized the importance of centuries-old yoga and how it can connect the body, mind, and soul when incorporated into daily routines.  A total of students 48 students, along with teaching and non-teaching staff, performed yoga asanas with all their energy and enthusiasm

The volunteers gathered around 6:30 am and all the preparations were made. Later as the participants turned in around 7:30 am the event started. It commenced with a welcome speech for Dr Pramila Sharma where she was also introduced to the crowd. She was welcomed with a Tulsi plant handed to her by honourable Principal madam Miss Krutika Desai
It was followed by a short speech by Principal madam. After which Pramila madam said a few words in context to the importance of Yoga in daily life. Further ahead she, along with the two volunteers Anand Raj and Namrata Bangera conducted the practical Yoga session.

Various Asans like Markat asan, Makrasan, Bhujang asan were demonstrated and followed by the students doing it. All of this was followed by a peaceful meditation.

NSS Program Officer Mr. Pankaj Vasudeo Kataria gave Official Vote of Thanks.
The authorities in attendance apart from Principal madam were the Vice Principal Science Dr. Meenakshi Vaidya Madam and Vice Principal Commerce CA Dr. Bharat Patel Sir, NSS Program Officer Mr. Pankaj Vasudeo Kataria, the DLLE head Sanobar Hussaini Madam, the NCC head Lt. Dinkar Kurkute Sir and other faculty members.